Browsers may block some cookies by default. Click accept to allow advertising partners to use cookies and serve more relevant ads. Visit our privacy policy page for more information.
90b2a4cdc1bd807dc246b20426cbebfa-1549460366313-1549460368538.png
Source: Facebook

You Can Finally Delete Facebook Messenger Messages, And Here's How

By Mark Pygas

We've all been there. It's 2 a.m. in the morning and you've sent a message to someone that you immediately regret to the person you like. While some social media platforms like Instagram allow you to delete a drunken message before the person ever sees it, it's a feature that's long been missing from Facebook's Messenger app.    

But worry no longer. On Tuesday, Facebook announced that they'd added a Messenger feature for anyone who has fired off a comment they regretted – a way to take it back. From now on, Messenger users will have a 10-minute window to delete a message, and as long as the person or someone in the group chat doesn't see the message before you delete it, all they'll see is a note telling everyone in a conversation that the remark was removed.

"Have you ever accidentally sent a message to the wrong group of friends, mistyped something, or simply wanted to remove a message in a chat?" Anna Iskikian, Product Manager for Messenger, asked rhetorically in a press release.