TikTok notification
Source: Getty/TikTok

TikTok Now Tells You If Your Friends Are Viewing the TikToks You Share

By

Sep. 10 2021, Updated 7:00 p.m. ET

If you’ve ever uploaded a video to TikTok, you’ve probably spent a little time watching the view count go up as more and more people find and watch what you’ve made. That’s just human nature! Even if you’ve never had a video go viral, there’s a small part of you that gets a rush when you see people are actually watching something you created.

Article continues below advertisement

You might also be curious about who is actually visiting your profile. Maybe your crush is totally obsessed with your videos! Maybe some recording executive stumbled across your covers and wants to sign you — hey, it could happen! Can you see who views your TikTok profile? You used to be able to, but it's not as easy anymore.

The old notification for when someone viewed your profile on TikTok
Source: TikTok/Twitter

The old notification for when someone viewed your profile on TikTok

Article continues below advertisement

Can you see who views your TikTok profile?

TikTok used to tell you who has viewed your profile, but in recent updates they've removed the feature, making it unavailable for all users. There is no longer a way for you to see who is visiting your profile.

Previously, all you had to do was open your TikTok app, tap the notification icon, then tap “viewed your profile.” From there, you’d be taken to a list of all of the accounts that had seen on your profile, either by searching for you specifically, seeing your videos organically on their For Your Page, or tapping on your username on a comment, caption, or tag in another video. It's possible you can still do this if you have an older version of the app.

Article continues below advertisement

Since the developers have removed this feature, you can now view anyone's profile as many times as you'd like without them knowing. Feel free to browse users as much as you'd like, but remember not to accidentally "like" anything from too far back if you don't want them knowing you've viewed their profile.

Article continues below advertisement

If you don’t want random people to be able to find your account for whatever reason, you can put your TikTok account in private mode. That way, you’ll have to allow them to follow you before they can visit your profile and watch your content.

Can you see who views your TikTok videos?

Of course, what you really want to know is whether someone has seen a specific video of yours. That’s where TikTok’s reporting falls a bit short. While you can see the total views of a TikTok video, TikTok does not provide a list of every person who has watched it.

Article continues below advertisement

That being said, you can see if the friend you're sharing TikToks with is actually viewing them. When you copy a link from TikTok to send to a friend, it tells you when another user has opened that link and viewed the video. Even if you don't already follow them, it'll give you a notification reading "[username] just viewed the video you shared."

As far as we can tell, TikTok has no plans to implement a feature that lets you see who has watched each individual video on your profile. The best thing to do if you’re really trying to make an impression is probably to just keep making content and putting it out there. Good luck and happy TikTok-ing!

Advertisement
More from Distractify

More From Distractify

    • CONNECT with Distractify
    • Link to Facebook
    • Link to Twitter
    • Link to Instagram
    • Link to Email Subscribe
    Distractify Logo
    Do Not Sell My Personal Information

    © Copyright 2021 Distractify. Distractify is a registered trademark. All Rights Reserved. People may receive compensation for some links to products and services on this website. Offers may be subject to change without notice.