All of the Songs Featured So Far on NBC's 'Council of Dads'

The NBC series 'Council of Dads' is already turning out to be a fan-favorite show from the network, and the show's music is a big part of why.

Amber Garrett - Author

Feb. 19 2021, Updated 2:59 p.m. ET

Council of Dads
Source: Seth Johnson/NBC

Music in shows tends to heighten the emotion of a scene, but few TV dramas use it as well as Council of Dads. The new NBC drama has a killer soundtrack blending blues, country, folk, R&B, and hip-hop. If you've been curious about the music on Council of Dads, here's a rundown of the songs and artists the show has featured so far. Mild spoilers ahead!

Article continues below advertisement

'Council of Dads' music from the pilot episode:

  • "Forever on Your Side" by NEEDTOBREATHE: Plays in the opening scene of the show's first episode, while J.J. (Blue Chapman) is trying to get up the nerve to swing off a rope into the water.
  • "Coming Home" by Leon Bridges:  Heard under the scene where Scott (Tom Everett Scott) learns he has cancer.
  • "Fear" by Ben Rector: Scott awakens from surgery to remove his tumor.
council of dads pilot
Source: Joe Mast/NBC
Article continues below advertisement
  • "Pain and Misery" by The Teskey Brothers: Plays as a convalescing Scott shows his wife, Robin (Sarah Wayne Callies), that he can walk on his new leg.
  • "Where They From" by Missy Elliott: This is the song Luly (Michele Weaver) and Evan (Steven Silver) are rapping to when they first kiss.
  • "Ain't Gonna Let You Down" by Júníus Meyvant: Plays when Scott tells Robin about his Council of Dads idea.
  • "Hard Place" by H.E.R.: Plays when Larry (Michael O’Neill) teaches Theo (Emjay Anthony) to drive and Robin gives birth.
  • "Tomb" by Angelo De Augustine: Plays under Scott's voiceover reading his letters to the Council of Dads.
  • "The Joke" by Brandi Carlile: Plays as Luly walks down the aisle at her wedding with Evan.
  • "Baby Brother" by Matthiel: This is the song everyone dances to at the reception.
Article continues below advertisement

'Council of Dads' music from Episode 2, "I'm Not Fine"

  • "Family" by Drew Holcomb & the Neighbors: Played when Hope eats her first ice cream.
  • "Now It Begins" by Layup: Heard when J.J. and Charlotte (Thalia Tran) are looking for Robin, who went for a run.
  • "Fool for Love" by Lord Huron: Plays as Robin is talking to (J. August Richards) Oliver at the hospital.
larry jj council of dads
Source: Seth F. Johnson/NBC
Article continues below advertisement
  • "Only Skin" by "The Spring Standards: Plays when Evan and Luly are discussing their move to New York.
  • "I Give You My Heart" by Andreya Triana: Plays when Oliver tells his husband the results of his M&M.
  • "High Road" by Upstate: Plays when Luly meets up with her biological mother.
  • "Caesar Knows" by Oliver Hazard: Plays when Charlotte is waiting with Tess (Lindsey Blackwell) to meet her DNA relative.
  • "Tearing at the Seams" by Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats: Plays when Larry teaches J.J. how to ride a bike.
  • "Alright (Pumpkin Pie)" by Lulu the Giant: Played by the band at Luly's going-away-turned-staying-here party.
More from Distractify

Latest Council of Dads News and Updates

    Opt-out of personalized ads

    © Copyright 2023 Distractify. Distractify is a registered trademark. All Rights Reserved. People may receive compensation for some links to products and services on this website. Offers may be subject to change without notice.