Snapchat Logo
Source: Getty Images

Deleting Snapchat Doesn't Delete Your Memories Instantly — Get the Details Here!

By

Jul. 30 2021, Published 12:50 p.m. ET

Taking a break from social media has become standard practice for many users. Whether it’s to protect their mental health or to focus on other ventures, sometimes distance is needed. But, leaving social media temporarily doesn’t mean that you want your posts to be lost for good.

Article continues below advertisement

Snapchat has become the go-to app because it allows users to utilize temporary messaging, photo-sharing, and it has a Memories feature — which saves photos and videos for as long as you'd like. Since the app is focused on offering temporary services, users are wondering if their Memories will be preserved if they choose to delete their account. Read on to get the 4-1-1.

Snapchat app
Source: Getty Images
Article continues below advertisement

If you delete Snapchat does it delete your Memories? Not instantly, but it will happen over time.

Although Snapchat is all about deleting photos and videos that are opened after 24 hours, that doesn’t mean that all hope is lost when it comes to preserving your Memories after deleting your account.

Per Snapchat Support, Memories are backed up by Snapchat. So, if you decide to delete your account for a few days and then return, you’ll have access to your Memories. All you’ll have to do is log back into your account to access them as you normally would.

Article continues below advertisement
Source: Twitter

However, Snapchat Support does share that access to your Memories is time-sensitive once you decide to delete your account. The app gives users a 30-day deactivation period before deleting all of your account settings, friends, snaps, chats, stories, device data, and location data in the user database.

Article continues below advertisement

Once the 30-day mark hits, it’s likely that users won’t be able to access any memories, messages, or accounts. So, it's important to act accordingly.

Article continues below advertisement

It’s best to save your memories to your device before the 30-day mark hits.

We understand that some Snapchat memories have sentimental value. And while you may need a break from the app, losing out on your Memories after 30 days doesn’t seem fair.

Thankfully, there is an easy way to get around the Snapchat rules of deletion. If you know that your break from Snapchat may be longer than 30 days, simply plan ahead and save all of your Memories to your phone to avoid the headache.

Depending on how many Memories you have, it may eat up a chunk of your device’s memory, but it’s better to have your photos and videos than having them deleted for good.

Article continues below advertisement
Snapchat logo
Source: Getty Images

Luckily, saving your memories to your device is super-easy. First, tap on the "Memories" button at the bottom of the screen. Open the memory you want to save. Tap on the three vertical dots at the top-right of your screen.

Select “Export Snap” and choose “Camera Roll” from the share options. Now, your memory will be saved.

If you do that for your most important memories, you don’t have to worry about your Snapchat memories getting permanently deleted. As long as you take the proper action to save your photos to your device before the 30-day deletion period, you’ll be in the clear.

Advertisement
More from Distractify

More From Distractify

    • CONNECT with Distractify
    • Link to Facebook
    • Link to Twitter
    • Link to Instagram
    • Link to Email Subscribe
    Distractify Logo
    Do Not Sell My Personal Information

    © Copyright 2021 Distractify. Distractify is a registered trademark. All Rights Reserved. People may receive compensation for some links to products and services on this website. Offers may be subject to change without notice.