The Starter Pokémon for 'Pokémon Legends: Arceus' Will Get Unique Final Evolutions

'Pokémon Legends: Arceus' is here. Who are the starter Pokémon and which is best? What are the final evolutions of the starter Pokémon?

Sara Belcher - Author

Jan. 28 2022, Updated 2:09 p.m. ET

'Pokémon Legends: Arceus'
Source: Nintendo

It's a great time for Pokémon fans. Within the past couple of years, trainers have gotten the new Pokémon Snap game that hit the Nintendo Switch in April 2021, as well as remakes of Pokémon Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl, which also hit the console at the end of 2021.

But Pokémon developers haven't stopped there. Pokémon Legends: Arceus is an entirely new title with a new format. Who are the starters in this game, which starters are the best, and what are final evolutions? Here's what to know.

Article continues below advertisement

What are the starter Pokémon in 'Pokémon Legends: Arceus'?

In previous Pokémon games, the typical starter Pokémon options for Sinnoh region games are Turtwig, Chimchar, and Piplup. Players could pick between these three options when starting either Pokémon Diamond / Pearl or Pokémon Platinum.

But Pokémon Legends: Arceus is the franchise's first open-world game, so of course things will be different in this title. Instead of the classic Sinnoh region starters, there will be new options to start your Pokémon journey here.

The starter Pokémon in 'Pokémon Legends: Arceus'
Source: The Pokémon Company
Article continues below advertisement

The starter Pokémon options for Pokémon Legends: Arceus will be Cyndaquil, Rowlet, and Oshawott. Each of these Pokémon originates from regions outside of the Sinnoh region; Cyndaquil is from Johto, Rowlet is from Alola, and Oshawott is from Unova. This is likely because Arceus takes place before some of the previous Pokémon titles in the Hisui region (before it became the Sinnoh region).

Unlike some of the other starters from previous generations, you should be able to find Cyndaquil, Rowlet, and Oshawott in the wild — so you'll be able to capture them on your own regardless of which Pokémon you choose as your starter.

Article continues below advertisement

Which starter is the best in 'Pokémon Legends: Arceus'?

Some trainers have their personal reasonings for picking their starter Pokémon, but considering there aren't any gyms to defeat in Legends: Arceus, you can't employ your traditional methods.

Instead, you'll have to think of the types of the Noble Pokémon you'll be battling along the way. There are three big foes you'll face off against: Bug and Rock-Type Kleavor, Grass and Fighting-Type Lilligant, and Fire and Rock-Type Hisuian Arcanine.

Article continues below advertisement

To those who love grass-type Pokémon, we hate to break it to you, but Rowlet is easily the weakest option here. This adorable Pokémon is weak against many of the Noble Pokémon you'll face off against, and while it may be fun to take it on as a challenge, it won't make your road to victory easy.

Cyndaquil is a solid choice, as it's one of the few Fire-type Pokémon you'll find early on, but it's also not as effective against some of the Noble Pokémon.

Ultimately, while Oshawott is one of the weaker choices in the beginning, it's the best option, as it'll be strong against the Noble Pokémon you'll have to face off against.

Article continues below advertisement

What are the final evolutions of the starter Pokémon in 'Pokémon Legends: Arceus'?

While these three Pokémon are not new choices to begin your quest with, they will be getting new final evolutions exclusive to the Hisui region. On Jan. 25, Pokémon posted a video on YouTube teasing that the starters will have never-before-seen final evolutions.

Typically, Dartrix will evolve into Decidueye, Quilava will evolve into Typhlosion, and Dewott will evolve into Samurott — though their final types will be different in the new game.

Article continues below advertisement

Typhlosion, for starters, will be a Fire and Ghost-type Pokémon, which is completely unique to the region and has not been seen before this game.

Decidueye will be a Grass and Fighting-type Pokémon, and while that's not entirely original, it still makes the Pokémon a unique (and strong) pick for your team.

Finally, Samurott will be a Water and Dark-type Pokémon, which is another pairing for the region that is rarely seen.

All of these Pokémon have also gotten complete makeovers, looking nothing like their original final evolutions to keep things unique.

Pokémon Legends: Arceus is now available for the Nintendo Switch.

More from Distractify

Latest Pokémon News and Updates

    Opt-out of personalized ads

    © Copyright 2023 Distractify. Distractify is a registered trademark. All Rights Reserved. People may receive compensation for some links to products and services on this website. Offers may be subject to change without notice.