The Voice

The Voice judges and host
Source: NBC

There are plenty of singing competition shows for viewers to choose from these days, but The Voice definitely adds a little something extra. While other shows focus solely on the talent of the contestants, The Voice puts a bunch of emphasis on the superstar coaches who work to help contestants reach their fullest potential. And don’t forget about the chairs that spin around at the press of a button! Those are pretty cool, too.

Meet The Voice coaches:

How does The Voice work?

As with most competition shows, The Voice starts with contestants singing their hearts out and hoping to impress the coaches. In a fun twist, the coaches start with their backs to the contestants and only turn around if they’re interested in that artist. The contestant then decides if they want to join that coach’s team (if more than one coach is interested, the contestant chooses whose team to join). Throughout the rest of the season, The Voice coaches mentor their team of artists in the hopes of getting one of their picks all the way to the end of the competition. The coaches also have opportunities to “steal” artists from one another and “save” artists who did not receive the public’s vote that week.

Has The Voice produced any stars?

Several of The Voice winners have gone on to enjoy successful music careers after their tenure on the game show. Some of the most notable stars are Cassadee Pope (winner of Season 3), Danielle Bradbery (winner of Season 4), Josh Kaufman (winner of Season 6), Sawyer Fredericks (winner of Season 8), and Jordan Smith (winner of Season 9). There hasn’t yet been a The Voice winner who has reached the same heights as some of the American Idol winners over the years, but it’s probably just a matter of time until that happens!

The Voice Winners

  • Season 1: Javier Colon — Team Adam
  • Season 2: Jermaine Paul —Team Blake
  • Season 3: Cassadee Pope —Team Blake
  • Season 4: Danielle Bradbery —Team Blake
  • Season 5: Tessanne Chin — Team Adam
  • Season 6: Josh Kaufman — Team Usher
  • Season 7: Craig Wayne Boyd —Team Blake
  • Season 8: Sawyer Fredericks — Team Pharrell
  • Season 9: Jordan Smith — Team Adam
  • Season 10: Alisan Porter — Team Christina
  • Season 11: Sundance Head —Team Blake
  • Season 12: Chris Blue — Team Alicia
  • Season 13: Chloe Kohanski —Team Blake
  • Season 14: Brynn Cartelli — Team Kelly
  • Season 15: Chevel Shepherd — Team Kelly
  • Season 16: Maelyn Jarmon — Team John
  • Season 17: Jake Hoot — Team Kelly
  • Season 18: Todd Tilghman —Team Blake
  • Season 19: Carter Rubin — Team Gwen
  • Season 20: Cam Anthony —Team Blake
  • Season 21: Girl Named Tom — Team Kelly
  • Season 22: TBD

How many seasons has each The Voice coach won?

While the contestants are the ones who do all of the singing, the coaches are celebrated for their ability to pick a winning team. So, when a singer is crowned as the champion, their coach is also deemed a winner. Here’s how the coach wins stack up so far:

  • Blake Shelton: 8 wins (Seasons 2, 3, 4, 7, 11, 13, 18, 20)
  • Kelly Clarkson: 4 wins (Seasons 14, 15, 17, 21)
  • Adam Levine: 3 wins (Seasons 1, 5, 9
  • Pharrell Williams: 1 win (Season 8)
  • John Legend: 1 win (Season 16)
  • Usher: 1 win (Season 6)
  • Christina Aguilera: 1 win (Season 10)
  • Alicia Keys: 1 win (Season 12)
  • Gwen Stefani: 1 win (Season 19)

How to watch The Voice:

The Voice Season 22 premiered at 8 p.m. EST on Sept. 19, 2022. From there, it airs Mondays and Tuesdays on NBC and can be streamed on Peacock.

Latest The Voice News and Updates

Opt-out of personalized ads

© Copyright 2024 Distractify. Distractify is a registered trademark. All Rights Reserved. People may receive compensation for some links to products and services on this website. Offers may be subject to change without notice.